Mangledwurzels logo
Mangledwurzels logo

Get Orf My Land!
released on Somersetmade Records (MWCD001) issue: 9th February 2007

Get Orf My Land CDGet Orf My Land! (MWCD001) is the debut album by The Mangledwurzels. The album was recorded live on the 25th November 2006 at the Charlton Inn in Shepton Mallet (Hedge Cutter’s local) and produced by Will Angeloro of Handsome Llama studios in Frome. It was released at the band's gig at The Bell Inn in Shepton Mallet on 9th February 2007.

The original 19 track album has now been deleted and superceded by the remastered 2009 reissue of Get Orf My Land! with a bonus track released on the Loose Records label (LSECD93) in January 2009.

Track listing

1. Combine Harvester (Brand New Key) [Safka, O'Shaughnessy]
2. Drink Drink Yer Zider [Barter, Barter]
3. Cider Be Good For ‘Ee [Blades, D. J. Sampson]
4. Twice Daily [Cutler]
5. Chitterlings [Cutler]
6. I'll Never Get A Scrumpy Here [Welch]
7. Valleys Girl [Blades]
8. Pill Pill [Cutler]
9. Don't Tell I, Tell 'Ee [Sheldon, Crozier]
10. I Got Me Beady Little Eye On Thee [Budd, Owen]
11. I Wish I Was Back On The Farm [MacDougal]
12. The Rat Song [D. J. Sampson]
13. Keep Yer 'and On Yer A'penny [Glasgow]
14. The Champion Dung Spreader [Cutler]
15. Drink Up Thy Zider [Cutler]
16. Farmer Bill's Cowman [Greenaway, Cook, Banner, Budd, Baylis]
17. I Am A Cider Drinker [Bouwens]
18. The Blackbird [Bayliss, Banner, Budd]
19. Beta Vulgaris Vulgaris (The Mangold-wurzel) [D. J. Sampson]

Oi Wuz There!

During the process of recording the album, the audience – always a vital part of any live show – took a hands-on approach to the performance. As always, the second set of the show involved the chitterlings buckets of instruments being generously distributed amongst the crowd who are then urged to join in for the remainder of the gig. And the crowd at the Charlton Inn had the added enticement (if such were needed) of having their performances – and their names – included on the live album. In a totally original concept (stolen from John Otway!), all participants who completed the’ Oi Wuz There!’ form will have their names included on the CD sleeve.

And who was there? Well, here is the full list of those who signed up: Cheddarman, Danger Nathan, Energiser Bunny, Git Mohair, Gary (Wurz), Hazy Sunshine, Kevin Wurzel, Little Sarah, Liz & Charlie from Next Door, Mandy, Road Up Gang A Connock, Slash, Ian Baagelaar, Teresa Body, Mike Brockway, Darren Butt, Valerie Chambers, Kim Clay, Lee Claydon, Lee Connock, Sue Connock, M.E. Cox, Joe Cox, Julie Ann Cox, Hayley Cullen, Daisy Cutter, Norman Downton, Lisa Fowler, Xiaoye Guo, Maurice Evans, Julia Gillard, Angela Hunt, Emily Oatley, Tich Masters, Kathy Needs, Martin (Vic) Needs, Rosie Russett, Panita Tapner, Tristan Tapner, Mike Taylor, Kate Thorne, Graham Trott, Anne Watts. Mike Watts and Skip Wells. Also in attendance, apparently, were Charles J. Manson, Ivor Large One (complete with website URL which sadly does not exist), Phil McCrack and Patty O’Furniture and Mahatma Choat.